Vista Update: One down 11 to go!

With my first full month as an AmeriCorps Vista coming to an end, it seems fitting to give a little update of the things that have been going on in my world. For those who do not know. I am working for the United Way of Madison County. I work mostly with their Youth Leaders Council and with the Healthy Children’s Initiative, but sometime I get to help out at really cool events.

United Way Kick Off Party:

This was one long and hot Saturday filled with all of the Partners of United Way, some Board Members and a TON of community support. This event was a great way for community members to get out and enjoy the nice weather while learning more about United Way and the programs we help fund. Each of our Partners set up a table with information for community members and activities for the kids. There was a ton of awesome food, a GIANT cake, and the coolest activities. Like a bouncy house (pictured below) that sadly I was not able to play on because I am a “grown up” and had to be working. #lame.

Vista Members From Big Brother Big Sister and Myself

Bouncy Houses!!!

Autism Resource Foundation: Golf Tournament Fundraiser:

I also had the chance this month to help out with the Autism Resource Foundations Gold Fundraiser. This allowed me not only to DRIVE a golf cart but to actually figure out some of the rule of golf. I only stayed for about half of the event but from what I saw it was a huge success and helped to raise a lot of money for the foundation and the work that they do.

“They see me rolling”

Other than work and work events, life is pretty normal. Since it is now officially fall, I am getting SUPER excited for “scary” movies, PSL, Apple Cider and Pumpkin Spiced EVERYTHING, and of course HALLOWEEN. It may not feel like fall outside, but that does not mean it is not that amazing time of the year. And I won’t lie- I’m really enjoying that it is almost October and I can comfortably wear sandals still. 🙂

XoXo-Cassi

Leave a Reply

